Danny Taylor’s Road to Ordination

NOTE:  This Saturday at 10:30AM, Danny Taylor, a parishioner here at Christ the King, is scheduled to be ordained a transitional deacon as he continues his journey of discernment towards ordination to the priesthood.  All are invited to come and celebrate this glorious event.


On May 17th of 1990, Fr. Bob Murphy, SJ, baptized me in the sanctuary of our beloved Cathedral. On June 1st, in the very same sanctuary, Bishop John Stowe, OFM Conv., will ordain me to the diaconate. On the eve of my ordination, a question has been coming up in my prayer: What transpired between my baptism and my ordination that led me to DannyTaylorDeaconOrdinationdiscern a vocation to the priesthood? Through reflection and prayer, I have discerned that the following factors have been crucial in my discernment: the Rosary, the Eucharist, and service.

 

One of my first memories as a child is praying the Rosary. Nightly, I remember gathering in my parents’ room, kneeling around their bed, and praying the rosary with my parents and siblings. At the time, I remember wondering if one of the mysteries of the rosary was when the rosary was ever going to end! All joking aside, in the Rosary, I began to see Mary’s beauty, feel her love, and desire to follow her. As I followed her more and more, I was led to the Source of all her beauty and love: her Son. I am so grateful that my parents took the time to teach me how to pray!

It sounds funny to say, but I would never have come to my vocation without Jesus. In order to get to know Jesus, however, someone had to introduce me to him. The first people to do so, of course, were my parents. As a child, I recall going with my mother to the adoration chapel at St. Luke in Nicholasville. Although, at the time, I could not comprehend the nature of the Eucharistic (gosh, I can barely comprehend it now!), I remember feeling a deep sense of peace in that chapel. When the time came for me to receive my First Communion, I began to understand that the Source of that chapel’s peace was Jesus Christ. In the Eucharist, I fell in love with Jesus. I thank God that my family loved me enough to teach me about Love Incarnate and about his Real Presence in the Eucharist!

As a kid, I was fortunate enough that the adults in my life taught me that serving others was essential. Every Saturday, as a kid, my grandad would take a group of my cousins, siblings, and friends to the Catholic Action Center to pick up bread, bag it, and deliver it to those in the community in need of food. These times helped to form me and teach me that the Corporal Works of Mercy are not optional for Christians. It was a wonderful experience of Christian fellowship and fraternity. Without that training in Christian service and discipleship, I would not be here today!

My journey to ordination has not been without hardship. Providentially, however, God has provided for me through the hands of others. I give thanks to all those in this parish community who have supported me through the years. As I make the final preparations for my ordination, I have one last favor to ask you: Please pray for the young people in your lives. Pray that they might discern their vocations well. For most of them, this will not mean ordination to the diaconate or priesthood. For those who are called to that way of life, however, your prayers will be life-changing. Trust me…without the prayers and guidance of others…I would never have had the privilege of serving the people of our DannyTaylor_2017diocese in this particular way!

In Christ,

Danny Taylor

Leave a comment